For Sale


History of Prix de l'Arc de Triomphe

The Prix de l'Arc de Triomphe was first run at Longchamps racecourse on Sunday October 3rd 1920.

The first horse across the line was Comrade, who picked up FF150,000 [French Francs]; second was King's Cross, winning FF18,000, and Pleurs was third, winning FF10,000.

The Prix de l'Arc de Triomphe Lucien Barrière offered prize-money of 2 million euros including 1,142,800 euros to the winner.

The Arc weekend is Europe's biggest two-day combined purse, with total prize money of 4.5 million euros on offer.

The Prix de L'Arc de Triomphe has been run 84 times since 1920.

Sunday 7th October 2012 heralded the 91st running of what is generally considered to be the world's greatest horse-race.

Here are the most important historical facts relating to the Qatar Prix de l'Arc de Triomphe:

The leading trainer of Arc winners, with 7 wins is:-
André Fabre – Trempolino (1987), Subotica (1992), Carnegie (1994), Peintre Celebre (1997), Sagamix (1998), Hurricane Run (2005), Rail Link (2006).

The leading owner with 6 wins is:-
Marcel Boussac – Corrida (1936, 1937), Djebel (1942), Ardan (1944), Caracalla (1946), Coronation (1949) [Note that two of these wins were during World War 2].

• Fastest winning time – Danedream (2011), 2m 24.49s
• Widest winning margin – Ribot (1956), Sea Bird (1965) and Sakhee (2001), 6 lengths.
• Oldest winning horse – Motrico (1932), aged 7 years.
• Most runners – 30, in 1967.
• Fewest runners – 7, in 1941.

What great horses!

What a wonderful horse race!!

What a true sporting legacy!!